Hillel Communications.


Announcing Hillel International’s 2017-2018 Student Cabinet

by Hillel News |Jul 28, 2017|Comments

Hillel International announced today the 17 members of the second cohort of the Hillel International Student Cabinet. The Cabinet will allow Hillel International’s leadership to directly benefit from the advice, opinions and perspectives of current Jewish college students from throughout the world. A richly diverse cohort, the members selected represent the full spectrum of Jewish backgrounds, size and location of schools and area of study. The members were selected through a highly competitive process which drew close to 100 applicants.

The cabinet will also serve as a vehicle to connect Jewish college students to their peers throughout the world, by leveraging the global Hillel network. Currently, Hillel operates on more than 550 college campuses and in 17 countries.

“Having diverse students in positions of power and influence within Hillel will make our organization stronger,” said Hillel International Vice President for Student Engagement and Leadership Sheila Katz. “The 17 students selected represent great diversity from our movement. They range from all sects of Judaism, varying levels of involvement with organized Jewish life, and diverse ideologies about Israel and the world.

The makeup of our cabinet includes students from small private schools and large public schools, students from international campuses and American campuses, and includes Jewish students of color, students from interfaith backgrounds, students with disabilities, students who identify as LGBTQ, and more,” added Katz.

“We look forward to working with these passionate student leaders to advise, connect, inspire and represent Jewish students across the Hillel movement and the globe,” said co-chairs Ross Beroff and Zach Wolff.

Cabinet members will convene in New York City on September 15 and again in February. They will also meet virtually once per month.

Below is a full list of the 2017-18 Cabinet members:

Ross Beroff, Northeastern University ‘18

Jonathan Boretsky, McGill University ‘19

Jonathan Israilov, Michigan State University ‘18

Bianca Levy, University of Alabama ‘18

Rachel Marcus, University of California Berkeley ‘18

Zach Wolff, New York University ‘18

Talia Ben-Lulu, Tel Hai Academic College ‘20

Reut Cohen, University of Toronto ‘19

Jake/Jacob Ettinger, University of Southern California ‘18

Alissa Frenkel, University of Freiburg ‘18

Alexa Goldstein, University of Central Florida ‘19

Gabriella Kamran, University of California Los Angeles ‘19

Alejandro Kapszuk, Hillel Buenos Aires ‘20

Gabrielle Kleyner, Rutgers University ‘18

Leah Murphy, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Prescott ‘20

Alexander Weingart, University of Vermont ‘19

Jordyn Zimmerman, Ohio University ‘19

Back to Top

  • student cabinet

comments powered by Disqus