Hillel Communications.


Hillel International Announces 2015 Renaissance Award Honorees Cindy and David Shapira

University of Miami President and Former University of Michigan Hillel Executive Director to receive Maimonides and Bronfman Awards
by Hillel News |Feb 24, 2015|Comments

Hillel International announced today that Cindy and David Shapira are the recipients of this year’s prestigious Renaissance Award. The award will be presented on May 26 at The Pierre Hotel in New York City at Hillel International’s annual Renaissance Gala.

The Renaissance Award, Hillel International’s highest honor, is bestowed each year upon an individual or individuals whose bold vision and transformative initiatives enrich the campus, the Jewish community and the world.

David Shapira serves as Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors of Giant Eagle, Inc. and is President of the David S. and Karen A. Shapira Foundation. Cindy Shapira is a community activist and Vice President of the David S. and Karen A. Shapira Foundation.

“In announcing the 2015 Renaissance Award honorees, Randall Kaplan, Chair of Hillel International’s Board of Governors, said, “Cindy and David Shapira, through philanthropy and active engagement, are leading the Hillel enterprise’s transformation to the Comprehensive Excellence model on our campuses and at the Schusterman International Center. Their partnership with the Beacon Foundation, Hillel International, Hillel’s Boards of Governors and Directors, and universities currently in the Comprehensive Excellence pilot has set a new bar for achieving and measuring quality and impact. Recognizing them with this award puts a spotlight on Hillel International’s commitment to reaching and positively affecting the lives of the approximately 400,000 Jewish students at colleges and universities.”

Hillel International’s Maimonides Award, established last year, is presented to a university leader whose dedication to higher education has promoted a deep commitment to Jewish and secular learning and devotion to the community. The 2015 recipient is Donna E. Shalala, President of the University of Miami.

“We are delighted to bestow the Maimonides Award on Donna Shalala,” said Sidney Pertnoy,

Chair of Hillel International’s Board of Directors. “In addition to being a tremendous friend of the Jewish community and University of Miami Hillel, President Shalala has established a path of excellence for University of Miami in the arenas of higher education, research, and health care.”

The Edgar M. Bronfman Award, also established in 2014, is presented to a Hillel professional who has served the movement with distinction and honor. The 2015 recipient is Michael Brooks, Former Executive Director of University of Michigan Hillel.

“It is a privilege to honor Michael Brooks with the Edgar M. Bronfman Award,” said Eric Fingerhut, Hillel International’s President and CEO. “Thanks to Michael’s leadership, the University of Michigan Hillel is among the most active and broadly-based centers of Jewish life in North America. We are truly grateful for his thirty years of dedicated service.”

For biographies of the honorees and more information about the 2015 Renaissance Gala, visit www.hillel.org/gala.

Back to Top

  • Awards and Milestones
  • Maimonides Award
  • Edgar M. Bronfman Award
  • Eric Fingerhut
  • Sidney Pertnoy
  • Randall Kaplan
  • Michael Brooks
  • Donna E. Shalala
  • David Shapira
  • Cindy Shapira
  • Hillel International Renaissance Gala
  • 2015

comments powered by Disqus