Announcing Hillel International’s 2019-2020 Student Cabinet



April 29, 2019

Hillel International announced today the 19 members of the fourth cohort of the Hillel International Student Cabinet. The Cabinet allows Hillel International’s leadership to directly benefit from the advice, opinions and perspectives of Jewish college students from throughout the world. A richly diverse cohort, the members selected represent a spectrum of Jewish backgrounds, size and location of schools, gender, orientation and area of study. The members were selected through a highly competitive process.

The cabinet will also serve as a vehicle to connect Jewish college students to their peers throughout the world, by leveraging the global Hillel network. Currently, Hillel operates on more than 550 college campuses and in 17 countries.

Student Cabinet members engage in conversation at a meeting in February.

“Having diverse students in positions of power and influence within Hillel makes our organization stronger,” said Hillel International Vice President for Student Engagement and Leadership Sheila Katz. “These 19 selected students represent great diversity from our movement. They range from all sects of Judaism, varying levels of involvement with organized Jewish life, and diverse ideologies about Israel and the world. The makeup of our cabinet includes students from small private schools and large public schools, students from international campuses and American campuses, and includes Jewish students with a multitude of intersectional identities,” Katz added. 

“We are excited to empower the Cabinet’s diverse student leaders to bring critical issues and conversations to Hillel International, as we make an impact on the global Jewish community,” said co-chair Jordyn Zimmerman.

“We know the Cabinet will continue to make an impact on the Hillel movement and we are excited for new, talented students to join us,” agreed co-chair David Kulp.

Below is a full list of the 2019-20 Cabinet members:


David Kulp, Emory University, ‘20

Jordyn Zimmerman, Ohio University, ‘20

Cabinet Members:

*Jared Bach, George Washington University, ‘21

*Julian Biller, Rutgers University, ‘20

*Ayla Bussel, Oregon State University, ‘20

*Zach Epstein, University of Texas at Austin, ‘21

Matthew Ghan, Chapman University, ‘20

Tatiana Haimenis, Brazil, ‘20

*Emma Hofman, Colby College, ‘20

Jonah Levitt, McGill University, ‘21

Aliza Lifshitz, Barnard College, ‘20

Sophie Nadler, California State University–San Marcos, ‘20

Naomi Pitkoff, Temple University, ‘20

*Jacob Schwack, University of Florida, ‘21

*Justin Shapiro, Western University, ‘20

*Chanel Shirazi, George Mason University, ‘20

*Rebecca Sturm, Arizona State University, ‘22

Daria Tass, Tel Aviv University, ‘20

*CJ Wechsler, University of Southern California, ‘21

*Indicates new cabinet member